This article will discuss all about the latest aspects of SharePoint Online Recycle Bin. Tips and tricks, you should know while using the Recycle Bin within the context of the modern Sites and pages.
Earlier you were used to what we now call classic sites. The classic sites era has ended and we live in a flat world with hundreds of team sites and communication sites.
So, let’s go and look out what has changed recently and how Recycle Bin works now.
Like the computer’s Recycle bin, SharePoint online Recycle bin is a dedicated location for storing all the deleted files.
All the deleted files, lists, libraries and pages are stored in there and you can restore or delete them permanently.
RECYCLE BIN FOR TEAM SITES
For team sites the recycle bin is located in the Quick Launch menu on the left-hand side. By default, it is placed there and cannot be removed.
RECYCLE BIN FOR COMMUNICATION SITES
Communication Sites are primarily used for sharing information one way. So, Recycle Bin is not part of the standard Quick Launch Menu in communication sites.
Recycle Bin on the Communication Sites can be accessed by on site contents page:
- Click on the gear icon and go to site contents.
2.On site contents, top right navigation you can find Recycle Bin.
WHAT SHAREPOINT RECYCLE BIN CAN HOLD
SharePoint Recycle Bin can store all the deleted
- Site Pages
- Document Libraries
- Files and folders from OneDrive
ACCESS TO THE SHAREPOINT ONLINE RECYCLE BIN
Visitors of any site with Read permission level cannot access contents in the Recycle Bin.
Any member with Edit permissions level on site or Site Owner with Full Control permission level can access the contents of SharePoint online Recycle Bin.
SHAREPOINT RECYCLE BIN CONTENT RESTORATION
Any member with Edit permissions level on site or Site Owner with Full Control permission level can restore the contents of SharePoint online Recycle Bin.
After the recent upgrade, users can now see the content of their Recycle Bin and content from the Recycle Bins of other site members.
And they can restore content deleted by the user.
Deleted lists and libraries can only be restored by the Site Owners or by the particular user who deleted the list or library.
Click the checkboxes next to the content you want to restore, then a Restore button will be visible next to the “Delete” button.
Click on “Restore” to restore the item to its original location.
SHAREPOINT ONLINE RECYCLE BIN NOTES
Each site has its own Recycle Bin. The items in Recycle Bin are stored for up to 93 days after deletion.
When you use SharePoint search to find items, the items that are moved to Recycle Bin are not identified up by search feature.