Intranetbee is a #No.1 SharePoint intranet portal

Get it

JOIN OVER 3,000

Subscribers who get fresh content to help their business weekly...

Categories
Categories

SharePoint has undoubtedly evolved into a powerful tool for document sharing, shared workspaces, storage, and presentation.

Microsoft Teams on the other hand is not just document management and sharing, it is also designed to integrate every aspect of collaboration.

This article discusses deleting a channel in Microsoft teams along with the two types of channels in teams, how to delete standard and private channels, how to restore channels and how to prevent channel deletion.

TWO TYPES OF CHANNELS

The two main types of channels are Standard channel and Private channel.

Standard Channel: Standard channel creates a folder in a default library on the site connected to Teams.

Private Channel: Private channel creates a separate site where channel documents are stored.

DELETE A STANDARD CHANNEL

When you delete a Standard Channel in Microsoft Teams it deletes the channel, but leaves the automatically created folder in documents on a SharePoint site.

If you want to delete the whole components of your channel, you have to manually delete that generated folder by navigating to that location.

DELETE A PRIVATE CHANNEL

When you delete a Private Channel in Microsoft Teams it deletes both the channel files and the created folder from the site.

Private channels can be created based on purpose of use and be deleted any time without accumulating any files in the background.

HOW TO RESTORE CHANNELS

You can also restore the deleted channels if somebody deletes it. It is quite simple, but you have to be the Group Owner to do this.

Click on the three dots next to the Site name > Manage Team > Settings > Deleted channels

Then expand the “Deleted” and you can find a restore button next to the channel name.

Click Restore on the notification pop-up.

Now the restored channel will appear on the team.

HOW TO PREVENT CHANNEL DELETION

A check box in the Manage Team settings can restrict deletions of the channels by the Team Members. Uncheck the checkbox and you are done.

This can be the most effective function to prevent the deletion of conversations and files in Private Channels.

This is how you can manage channels in Teams. Different channels can be created or removed based on your requirements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *